Forum

Poll

12 Years of Skylanders, Have You Played Any?
View Results
Page 1 of 1
How to Make Pixel Avatars [CLOSED]
Pepper-Head Green Sparx Gems: 101
#1 Posted: 01:52:56 27/06/2013 | Topic Creator
Hello there, welcome to my How to Make Pixel Avatars thread! I'll be covering how to make avatars by pixeling. I hope to have more types of tutorials up soon. Please note that I am not a professional and this is by no means the only way to do things! Everyone has their own style and technique, so don't be afraid to experiment!

• It'd be a good idea to check out this thread on maintaining an avatar/art thread when you're ready to set up shop!

HOW TO MAKE PIXEL AVATARS
[User Posted Image]
I like to start out with my pixeled avatars on a 50x50 transparent canvas. I also like to adjust the window so that it can go side-by-side with my character reference. You don't have to have a program with layers, you can just use Paint, but it's a lot easier with them. When creating pixel avatars, you'll mainly be using the pencil tool, paint bucket, and eraser if you need it. Make sure that your pencil tool is the smallest size possible, 0.01.
Do not directly copy your references unless it's strictly for practice purposes and not for showing off. It's not entirely your own art, it can be considered stealing, and I could just go on on this for hours... don't do it! o_o

[User Posted Image]
Now draw yourself a sketch (no matter how rough!) in any color that's easy for you to see. (If you want to give yourself a temporary colored background so you can see, do so!) Don't use a black sketch, because when you go over it for the actual picture, you won't be able to tell the difference between sketch and lines.

Pop Fizz likes to shake up his beakers to get different mixtures! If you can't tell what he's doing, he's shaking it up x'D