Forum

Poll

12 Years of Skylanders, Have You Played Any?
View Results
Page 1 of 1
Skylanders Digital-Only Mod?
zookinator Platinum Sparx Gems: 5694
#1 Posted: 04:18:29 28/06/2020 | Topic Creator
I've been thinking about this for a while, but only got around to posting it now. I have a fairly large collection of Skylanders, and with their growing age, I grow more concerned about my ability to play with them. Just today, while playing Swap Force, I had my Buckler half stop working, right in the middle of gameplay. I thankfully had a spare, and while this is the only one so far to kick the bucket, I wonder how long it will be before the others follow.

So here's my thought: would it be possible to make a digital-only mod for the Skylanders games? As in, mod the games so that we can simply press a button to enter the Portal screen, then from there, swap the current active Skylander? Similar to what the Switch version of Imaginators did?

I have some coding experience and am willing to learn what needs to be done to make this possible, but in the circumstance that it isn't, is there some way to copy the data of a Skylander to another tag? Pyrofer's tool allows for raw dumps of the Skylanders, so if we had a similar tag and dump it, it ought to be possible, right? And if it is, how would Swap Force Skylanders work?

I know these are a lot of questions that I have no idea will even be answered, considering the state of the board. But I want to enjoy these games long into the future, and even introduce them to my future children, if there is nothing like it then. Plus, it's a matter of preservation and accessibility. Many figures are difficult and expensive to acquire, and through this mod, this can at least make the option available to others to play with them.
---
Skylanders Colosseum Clash
A Fanmade Skylanders Boardgame
SoulfulWolf Platinum Sparx Gems: 5782
#2 Posted: 15:35:08 28/06/2020