Forum

Poll

12 Years of Skylanders, Have You Played Any?
View Results
darkSpyro - Spyro and Skylanders Forum > Fandom > Re-writing the Legend of Spyro Trilogy's story - Your Thoughts?
Page 1 of 1
Re-writing the Legend of Spyro Trilogy's story - Your Thoughts?
spyrorulz Blue Sparx Gems: 556
#1 Posted: 09:45:25 14/12/2019 | Topic Creator
So first off - Its been seven years since I was last on here, oh my goodness I am so happy my old account wasn't taken down AND I remembered how to login!

The main reason I'm back is that I am now a uni student, well on my last year anyhow and I have a LOT of spare time on my hands. Me, my Gf and friends are a quiet bunch so filling in the time with partying or the usual student habits aren't really a thing. Instead I have recently replayed the entire Legend of Spyro trilogy (SO MANY MEMORIES) and realised that despite the long long long list of great reasons to love the games, the story in each is somewhat like...swiss cheese. The games were written for younger teens and at the time I couldn't have loved them more. Now I've grown up a lot, been through uni and as great as the trilogy still is I'm noticing a MONSTER amount of plot holes, unused/unexplored context and a ridiculous amount of missed world building opportunities. Most of the world building is akin to something ripped straight from "Fantasy Worlds for Dummies."

Of course this might just be me being picky and I apologise if you're unhappy with this, my intentions aren't to go off on a tangent (much, kinda) so heres my pitch:

I write stories and anthologies for uni, I've been writing since I was very young and I know my way around words (most of the time.) I want to attempt to re-write the LoS trilogy.

I'll be keeping it more or less the same in terms of foundation and main characters, but adding a LOT of my own context, side characters, world building and narrative where I think it was lacking and fixing plot holes along the way.