Forum

Poll

12 Years of Skylanders, Have You Played Any?
View Results
darkSpyro - Spyro and Skylanders Forum > Fandom > Fan Project - Skylanders: Kingdom of Avalar
Page 1 of 1
Fan Project - Skylanders: Kingdom of Avalar
Artisan219 Red Sparx Gems: 93
#1 Posted: 15:48:07 12/11/2016 | Topic Creator
Skylanders: Kingdom of Avalar (Working Title)

Project Overview

I'm working on a Spyro-Skylanders fan project intended to bridge the gap between the two game series. This would mean re-imagining the classic Spyro series to include elements from the Skylanders franchise, and vice versa. The simplest way to summarize this project is that I want to make levels more like the classic Spyro (free-roam, emphasis on exploring and collecting) but use the art direction of Skylanders.

Project Goals

As much as I would like to make an actual game, that goal is unrealistic at the present. I can do sketches and artwork, 3D modeling and animation, and I have some experience with Unreal, but I lack the programming skills necessary for game production and I lack the time, resources, and inclination to attempt a full game on my own. So while I am going to work on asset creation throughout the project and may very well end up doing some level prototypes in Unreal, the main goal(s) of this Reddit project would be to develop a GDD and get much-needed outside input from other Spyro enthusiasts.

• Character Design - designing classic Spyro characters in Skylanders aesthetic
  • Story Development - creating a narrative that combines the classic Spyro titles into a more cohesive story
  • Level Design - bringing the free-roam Spyro design to Skylanders, bringing Skylanders to Spyro

• Game Concept