Page 1 of 1
Difficulty [CLOSED]
NEW_SpyroLUVA Emerald Sparx Gems: 3308
#1 Posted: 11:39:21 23/08/2011 | Topic Creator
One thing that worries me about Skylanders is how difficult (or rather, easy) it's going to be. Since it's marketed exclusively at children and given that (from what I hear) some of Activision's games are quite leasy (eg.CoD), I'm concerned it's going to be so easy it's dull and lacking replay value outside of the purchase of new peripherals. I hope Activision/Toys for Bob realized that you can make a game with kid friendly atmosphere, characters and story but still have an all ages difficulty level. A good example of such a game is Epic Mickey; it's Disney/Mickey so of course the game is perfectly appropriate for kids, but I've been playing platform games since I was four years old and that game still challenged me.

That said the lack of a jump button instantly makes me doubt that it will have one of the maing things that made Epic Mickey so fun/challenging, and that is tricky platforms. Not only that but EM managed to introduce a milti-hit system for killing certain enemies (which never degraded into press sircle fifty million times), whereas the enemies in Skylnaders seem to fall from one hit, or so It seemed to me. But I suppose they could make the platforming difficult by introducing puzzles you need to complete to make platforms appear or clear obstacles, or the need for more intelligent technique/strategy to kill different enemies beyond switching elements or using a stronger/faster character.

But for some reason I doubt that'll happen. Don't know why though...

Nope, cool as some of these characters may be, they're not enough to keep me coming back for more if the game itself bores me.
---
3 uses of teh Int@rw3bz: get info, waste time, and complain.
"Stick to your guns and keep on firin'!" - Max (Me)
Ice Dragoness Diamond Sparx Gems: 7896
#2 Posted: 14:36:08 23/08/2011