Forum

Poll

Favourite Reignited Game?
View Results
darkSpyro - Spyro and Skylanders Forum > Site Help and Suggestions > Petition for dark52 to set this site up with HTTPS
Page 1 of 1
Petition for dark52 to set this site up with HTTPS
Pixilism Emerald Sparx Gems: 4412
#1 Posted: 03:46:35 07/12/2018 | Topic Creator
THIS TOPIC HAS A LOT OF READING, BUT PLEASE READ THE WHOLE THING AS IT PERTAINS TO THE SECURITY OF THIS WEBSITE!!!

So I was reading through this section and found a link another user posted to a topic of theirs talking about how this site should be HTTPS compatible. The topic is here if you are curious.

But the topic I think was closed for the notion of potential fear mongering. While I understand that that can be perceived as fear mongering, please let me explain a bit about HTTPS in this topic and why it may be beneficial to the website and the security of its users.

I'm currently a student taking classes and listening to lectures about cyber security and hacking as a career interest and in the literal first section it talks about the difference in HTTP and HTTPS and why HTTP is so insecure in comparison. I'm not too far into my hacking learning adventure, so I don't know very much at all about the subject, but I do have at least a basic understanding on how this works, and I'll share details on the difference in the best way I know how.

When you enter information on a website and click the button to proceed, it sends the information from your computer or other device, to the internet, and then to DarkSpyro's server. It's kind of like sending a written letter to a recipient.