Page 1 of 1
Rats vs. Kaos clones
Sworn2Skylands Yellow Sparx Gems: 1353
#1 Posted: 19:26:32 02/02/2017 | Topic Creator
I didn't see a topic for this when I used the search bar, so I thought I would start a little discussion about two groups of enemies that appear in the storyline's last two levels.

When I started playing the Lair of Kaos, I got the impression that the Kaos clones would be the strongest non-boss enemies that the game would have to offer, yet strangely after I played it enough times, I still couldn't decide which kind of enemy between the Lair of Kaos's Kaos clones and the rats from the Abandoned Amusement Park that I disliked fighting more. This surprised me a bit and eventually I decided that I disliked fighting the rats more. Sure the Kaos clones do a lot of damage on higher difficulty settings, but I found that most of their attacks are well-telegraphed and easy to avoid. Meanwhile the rats swarm you in huge group sizes and the rats in the trash cans create a real sense of urgency, since they can mutate those Riff-Rats into rat giants with massive attack power and health with the cheese they throw. The rats also seemed like bigger team players, not just because of the previously mentioned example, but because of how the trash can rats can defend by going into their trash can and with the threat the Riff-Rats pose with their powerful hammer attacks (and the incentive you have to destroy the cheese on the ground with area of effect attacks), it makes you have to switch targets with who's the biggest threat constantly changing. It's an effective strategy for ensuring you don't get as much done as quickly.

Did anyone else have this experience or want to contribute their thoughts?
Bifrost Diamond Sparx Gems: 9943
#2 Posted: 19:51:00 02/02/2017
Rats feel like a remnant of TT AI. A lot of dumb hits because they seem all-seeing and have way wider hurtbuxes than it seems. I prefer Kaos Klones a lot more, easier to deal with but still fun.
---